居住和雇用公民的社区充满活力和安全。 无家可归的社区付出了代价 高额的税收支出,失去了机会,为遭受无家可归者的人们带来了痛苦,并降低了每个人的生活质量!

结束无家可归是一项协作性的社区努力,可以节省税收,开启机会,提高生活质量,并改善商业环境。 结束无家可归者需要整个社区共同努力。 这里有些例子。

无家可归者联盟

自10月2015以来,图森市政府5理事会成员Richard Fimbres定期召集一群政府官员,企业主,信仰组织,TPCH,其成员和其他服务提供商以及无家可归者社区。 这种合作激发了显着的进步。

Jacome Plaza是通过结束无家可归来增强商业环境的一个例子。

“通过 DTP连接84体验无家可归的人在短短三个月内与住房联系在一起,一个无家可归的营地完全变成了一个充满活力的公共广场。 通过与图森地区的各种组织合作,我们正在减少我们城市的无家可归,“Downtown Tucson Partnership(DTP)总裁兼首席执行官Kathleen Eriksen表示。

图森变革运动提供持续支持

DTP还与第四大道联盟,Ward 5和Park Tucson合作,在5月2017推出了Tucson Change Movement,20捐赠了停车收费表,人们可以通过该停车收费表进行更改 - 或使用借记卡或信用卡 - 来支持无家可归者相关的原因,从图森无家可归者工作计划开始。 在2018中,作为 图森无家可归者工作计划 进入第二年,它赢得了大都会皮马联盟的共同奖,以及7月2018全国住房和再开发官员协会(NAHRO)的优异奖。

HS洛佩兹家庭基金会支持当前和未来的服务

Humberto S.和Czarina Lopez对当前的无家可归者服务做出了最慷慨的贡献,为姐妹何塞女士中心提供了Czarina's Kitchen,每个月向无家可归的女性提供3,800餐,以及购买和授予前福音救援任务的监督。 Inn Palo Verde成为新的 机会中心无家可归者和有风险的人可以在一个地方找到或链接到他们需要的所有服务,4550 S. Palo Verde Blvd.

请加入TPCH,以结束皮马县的无家可归者! 今天捐款。

高额的税收支出

最近对TPCH数据的分析表明,在通过我们的协调进入系统评估转介住房之前的六个月内,遇到无家可归者的人:

  • 超过36,000次访问医疗急救部门
  • 被救护车送到医院超过15,000次
  • 住院时间超过17,000次
  • 使用的危机服务,包括911,超过19,000次
  • 与执法部门的互动超过25,000次(通常是因缺乏住房而导致的不端行为),以及
  • 在9,000次以上的牢房,监狱或监狱中至少住了一晚。

几乎所有这些服务都是通过税收支付的。 少数不是服务提供商的损失。

这些纳税人的费用可以通过住房和定向服务来减少或避免,这些服务可以满足个人需求,然后才能变得至关重要。 住房有助于改善住房的健康状况,使他们能够接受教育,培训和就业!

事实上,图森消防局的Tucson协作社区护理TC3正在通过将911呼叫者(无家可归者和住所)连接到所需的社区服务来降低此类成本并改善生活。

请加入TPCH,以结束皮马县的无家可归者! 今天捐款。

跳到内容

Communities where citizens are housed and employed are vibrant and safe. Communities where homelessness is common pay in high expenditures of tax dollars, lost opportunities, human misery for people experiencing homelessness, and lowered quality of life for everyone!

Ending homelessness is a collaborative, community effort that saves tax dollars, opens opportunities, improves quality of life, and enhances the business climate. Ending homelessness requires the entire community to work together. Here are some examples.

The Homeless Coalition

Since October 2015, City of Tucson Ward 5 Council Member Richard Fimbres has regularly brought together a group of government officials, business owners, faith-based organizations, TPCH, its members and other service providers and the homeless community. Such collaboration has inspired notable progress.

Jacome Plaza is an example of business climate enhancement through ending homelessness.

“Through DTP Connects, 84 individuals experiencing homelessness were connected with housing in three short months and a homeless encampment was completely transformed into a vibrant public plaza enjoyed by all. By collaborating with various organizations in the Tucson area, we are reducing homelessness in our city,” stated Kathleen Eriksen, President and CEO of the Downtown Tucson Partnership (DTP).

Tucson Change Movement provides ongoing support

DTP also worked with the Fourth Avenue Coalition, Ward 5, and Park Tucson to launch the Tucson Change Movement in May 2017 with 20 donated parking meters at which people can give their change – or use debit or credit cards – to support homelessness-related causes, beginning with the Tucson Homeless Work Program. In 2018, as Tucson Homeless Work Program entered its second year, it won a Common Ground Award from the Metropolitan Pima Alliance, and an Award of Merit from the National Association of Housing and Redevelopment Officials (NAHRO) in July 2018.

H.S. Lopez Family Foundation supports current, future services

Humberto S. and Czarina Lopez contributed most generously to current homelessness services, providing the Sister Jose Women’s Center with Czarina’s Kitchen, where about 3,800 meals are served to homeless women each month, and purchasing and giving to the oversight of Gospel Rescue Mission the former Holiday Inn Palo Verde to become the new Center for Opportunity, where homeless and at-risk persons can find or link to all the services they need at one location, 4550 S. Palo Verde Blvd.

Please join TPCH in ending homelessness in Pima County! Donate today.

High Expenditure of Tax Dollars

A recent analysis of TPCH data showed that in the six months prior to being assessed for referral to housing through our Coordinated Entry System, people experiencing homelessness:

  • Visited emergency departments for health care more than 36,000 times
  • Were taken to hospital by ambulance more than 15,000 times
  • Were hospitalized more than 17,000 times
  • Used crisis services, including 911, more than 19,000 times
  • Interacted with law enforcement more than 25,000 times (often for misdemeanors resulting from lack of housing), and
  • Stayed at least one night in a holding cell, jail or prison more than 9,000 times.

Nearly all these services were paid by tax dollars. The few that were not were losses to the service provider.

These taxpayer expenses can be reduced or avoided with housing and directed services that fill a person’s needs before they become critical. Housing helps improve the health of the housed person and enables them to gain education, training and employment!

In fact, Tucson Fire Department’s Tucson Collaborative Community Care, TC3, is reducing such costs and improving lives by connecting 911 callers – homeless and housed – to needed community services.

Please join TPCH in ending homelessness in Pima County! Donate today.

TOP